CBEAR Prize for Agri-Environmental Innovation

The annual CBEAR Prize for Innovation goes to leaders who foster the development of evidence-based policy design at the intersection of agriculture and the environment.

The 2020 CBEAR Prize for Agri-Environmental Innovation was awarded to Dr. Marca Weinberg, USDA Economic Research Service (ERS). CBEAR Co-Director Dr. Kent Messer commented, “The selection committee chose Dr. Weinberg for this recognition because she demonstrates extraordinary leadership in advancing research that quantifies benefits from USDA agri-environmental programs, ultimately improving policy and conservation efforts.” Alongside her outstanding leadership record at the USDA ERS, Dr. Weinberg has an impressive publication record addressing policy development. Since completing a PhD at the University of California, Davis, Dr. Weinberg has held many leadership positions, including serving as Acting Administrator (2019-2020) and RRED Director (2012-2019), as Associate Director for RRED, and Chief of the Division’s Resource, Environmental, and Science Policy Branch. Prior positions include Assistant Professor, University of California, Davis, and economist with the Congressional Budget Office. She has incorporated and celebrated the use of behavioral insights throughout her career. During her 23 years with the ERS she has promoted the use of evidence from economic experiments to improve agri-environmental programs. Upon accepting the award, Dr. Weinberg encouraged CBEAR and ERS colleagues to continue their high impact collaborations with program agencies to advance the evidence-based approaches to agri-environmental programs.

Dr. Marca Weinberg accepts the 2020 CBEAR Prize for Innovation during the inaugural CBEAR Fellows Virtual Seminar Series, January 11th, 2021. 

2019: The Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking

“While the Commission has completed their charge, their impact is long-lasting. CBEAR has used and appreciated the insights from their final report.”
–Kent Messer, speaking about the Commission on Evidence-Based

2019 Innovation Award | The Commission on Evidence-Based Policymaking, accepted by Dr. Katharine Abraham and Dr. Ron Haskins

2018 Dr. Sheila Reddy

“At its core, conservation is about people’s actions and decisions. Now more than ever, success depends on finding ways to help people overcome barriers to conservation.”

2018 Recipient Sheila Reddy, Associate Director of Strategic Initiatives, The Nature Conservancy.

2017: Jeremy Peters

“The team at CBEAR understands that truly engaging America’s landowners is the key to continued improvements in soil health, water conservation and sustainable management of our natural resources.”

2017 Recipient Jeremy Peters, Chief Executive Officer, National Association of Conservation Districts

2016: Jason Weller

“[CBEAR is] helping us think outside the box, be creative, be innovative, but also help us better communicate what it is we do, to ultimately help us better incentivize good solutions on the land.”

2016 Recipient Jason Weller, Chief, USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service